Print this page printer Icon

Quality Teaching Council (QTC) Sub-Committees

The QTC works with a number of sub-committees that advise the Board of Studies, Teaching and Educational Standards (BOSTES) about teaching standards and the accreditation of teachers.

Initial Teacher Education Committee (ITEC)

ITEC oversees the accreditation of initial teacher education (ITE) programs and makes policy recommendations to the QTC.  ITEC is made up of education and teaching professionals representing a range of expertise and a balance of interests.

Learn more about ITEC’s role and current members

The Professional Learning Endorsement and Advisory Committee (PLEAC)

PLEAC makes recommendations to the QTC about the endorsement of professional development providers, and provides strategic advice about professional learning.

Providers are endorsed to deliver QTC Registered Professional Development at one or more teacher accreditation levels. PLEAC is made up of three members of the QTC, and appointed education professionals and accredited teachers representing a range of expertise and a balance of interests. The Chair of PLEAC is appointed by the President of BOSTES.

Learn more about PLEAC’s role and current members

Moderating and Consistency Committee (MCC)

MCC provides advice to Teacher Accreditation Authorities (TAAs) to support consistent decisions about accreditation of Highly Accomplished and Lead Teachers. MCC is made up of teachers, principals and TAAs from the Government, Catholic and Independent sectors. The Chair of the MCC is appointed by the President of BOSTES.

MCC committee members


Membership group

Brian Miller, Chair


Angela Cottier

Teacher - Independent

Patricia Coehlo

Teacher - Catholic

Leanne Clarke

Teacher - Catholic

Aphrodite Cox

Teacher - Government

Richard Wiseman

Teacher - Government

Belinda Judd

Teacher - Government

Lucie Vandeven

Teacher - Government

Suzanne Fern

Principal - Non-government

Jayne Schmarr

Principal - Government

Betty Harper

Principal - Government

Jo McLean

TAA representative - Independent

Paul Dolan

TAA representative - Catholic

Sandra Robinson

TAA representative - Government

2017 meeting schedule

Friday, 10 March 2017
Friday, 19May 2017
Thursday, 10 August 2017
Friday, 20 October 2017